Joint Cross-Cutting IASC Working Groups

19 February 2023 | 10:30 - 12:30 (GMT+1)

Open Session - HYBRID

Room: Audimax


Session Conveners: Henry Burgess (NERC Arctic Office, UK), Gerlis Fugmann (IASC, Iceland)


Session Description

Joint meeting of all IASC Working Groups.   

The scientific core elements of IASC are its five Working Groups (WGs). The main function of the WGs is to encourage and support science-led international programs by offering opportunities for planning and coordination, and by facilitating communication and access to facilities. Each WG is composed of up to two scientists from each IASC member country, appointed by the national adhering bodies. The members are experts in their field, with an international reputation, and from different scientific disciplines so that the full range of Arctic research is represented in the WGs.

The International Arctic Science Committee (IASC) is a non-governmental, international scientific organization. The Founding Articles committed IASC to pursue a mission of encouraging and facilitating cooperation in all aspects of Arctic research, in all countries engaged in Arctic research and in all areas of the Arctic region. Overall, IASC promotes and supports leading-edge interdisciplinary research in order to foster a greater scientific understanding of the Arctic region and its role in the Earth system.